Skip to main content

Permissions overview

Learn about how you can use groups to control what your users can see and do.

👉 Available on: our current usage-based plans or Dashing legacy plan.

How do permissions work in Dash?

With Dash you can customise exactly who has access to which folder, and what level of access they should have to it.

Watch our video for a short overview of permissions:

Types of permission groups in Dash

All non-admin users must have at least one of the following permission groups applied to them:

  • Basic

    • View assets

    • Download assets

    • Create and share collections

    • Share assets

    • Cannot upload, edit, or delete assets

  • Contributor

    • View assets

    • Download assets

    • Upload assets

    • Edit and delete assets

    • Create new folders within folders that they have been given Contributor access to (see giving folder-specific permissions below)

Optionally, contributors can be required to submit their assets for approval by an admin before they become available to all other users. Additionally, creating and sharing portals can be enabled for both contributors and basic users.


Giving folder-specific permissions

By default, your Dash account comes with two permission groups:

  1. Basic all folders

  2. Contributor all folders

This is the simplest way of organising your users, giving each user either Basic or Contributor access to all folders.

If you would like to give different permissions to certain folders, you can do this too by creating additional Groups.

Creating a group

A group will allow you to specify Basic or Contributor level access to specific folders.

To create a new group:

  1. Go to Admin > Users & Groups

  2. Click on the Groups tab

  3. Click the New group+ button

  4. Give your group a name and pick either Basic or Contributor

  5. On the next screen, you can customise what folders this group gives access to (using the permission choice you picked in the previous step)

💡 Example 1 - Multiple users assigned to one group

If you want certain users to be able to view and edit assets in a specific folder only e.g. called "Staff photos" and also be able to upload their own assets, you might:

  • Create a new group, and call it "Contributor staff photos".

  • Set the group permissions to Contributor

  • For folder access, select the Only the folders you choose option and only tick the "Staff photos" folder

  • Edit users and assign them to this group

All users in this group will then be able to see their own uploaded assets added to the "Staff photos" folder, as well as those uploaded by others in the group.

💡 Example 2 - A single user per group

If you want a user to be able to upload then view and edit only the assets they have uploaded into a specific folder, you might:

  • Create a unique folder for each user/staff member e.g.

    • Folder 1: "Gian - Photos"

    • Folder 2: "Katya - Photos"

    • Folder 3: "Charlie - Photos"

  • You would then create a new group for each user e.g.

    • Group 1: "Gian - Contributor"

    • Group 2: "Katya - Contributor"

    • Group 3: "Charlie - Contributor"

  • Set the group permissions to Contributor

  • Within each group, for folder access, select the Only the folders you choose option and only tick the relevant folder for that group/user e.g. For the user, Gian, select the "Gian - Photos" folder within the "Gian - Contributor" group

  • Edit users and assign them to the relevant group e.g. Gian is assigned to the "Gian - Contributor" group

All users will then only be able to see their own uploaded assets added to their assigned folder. They won't be see any assets uploaded by other users (as those assets will go into their own restricted folders).

Assigning a group to a user

This can be done either when inviting a new user (note, the option to pick what groups this user is in will only show if you have unticked the Admin user checkbox), or by editing an existing user.


FAQs

What if I want a user to be able to upload assets but not delete them?

Currently, if a user has "Contributor" access to a folder, they'll also be able to delete assets in that folder. There are two options if you want them to upload but not delete from a folder:

Give them "Basic" access to the folder with the assets you don't want deleted, then either:

  • Give them a guest upload link to be able to directly upload to that specific folder.

  • Give them "Contributor" access to a temporary “upload” folder. Then, once uploaded, move those assets yourself to the final folder that they only have "Basic" access to.





Did this answer your question?