Portals let you create a permanent, public, searchable view of selected folders from your Dash account. This is useful when sharing assets with partners, retailers, distributors, press etc, so that external parties can find their own assets without having to ask you to do it for them!
Overview of portals
What can you do with portals?
Make one or more folders publicly available via a shareable URL
Add a welcome message so visitors understand what they are looking at
Users can access all the same search and filter options that your normal users get
Control what fields are visible to portal users
Create multiple portals, each giving access to different folders
Add a passcode to your portals to control who can access them
What do portal users get access to?
The same Browse experience that your users get - e.g. searching and filtering - but only for the folders included in the portal they are accessing
Download any asset included in the portal, using any of the preset sizes available in your account
The in-app messenger in order to search help articles and contact Dash support (anonymously, unless they choose to provide their email address for us to get back to them later)
What can portal users not do?
Create a share link to share portal assets to other people
Generate embeddable links to assets
Create saved searches
How do portals differ from a shared collection?
See our sharing overview page for a comparison of the various methods of sharing in Dash.
How to create a portal
Go To Admin > Portals and click Create a portal
Give your portal a name
Choose the folders that you would like to give access to
Enter a welcome message and choose whether you'd like to include the Recently added feed on the portal Home screen
Choose whether to make the portal public or protected by a passcode
Click Create portal
And that's it! You can now share this portal with anyone externally. If you need to access the URL, you can click the Share button again.
How to delete a portal
If you want to prevent a portal from being accessed by users, you can delete it. Simply return to Admin > Portals, locate the portal you want to delete and click the delete button.
This is irreversible and if you want to share this portal again you will need to recreate it.
Frequently asked questions about portals
Can I control what fields are visible to portal users?
You can restrict which fields are visible to portal users. Learn how in this article.
How can I show subfolders on the portal home page?
Generally, the parent folders are always shown on the home screen and you can't switch to showing subfolders.
There is one scenario where subfolders are shown, and that is if you have manually selected only subfolders within a single parent folder to be shown in the portal.