Sometimes you will want to replace an existing asset with a new version, for example if you have made some edits to an image. By uploading the new version of the asset, you can ensure that users searching for that image will see the latest version.
Here's what you can do in Dash:
Upload a new version of an asset to replace the previous version
See the version number of the current asset
View the version history of the asset
Download previous versions of the asset
Automatically notify anyone who previously downloaded the asset when a new version is available
How to upload a new version of an asset
The easiest way to upload new versions is to drag a file from your desktop over the top of the existing asset view in Dash. This will create a new version, and update any embeddable links associated with that asset.
If you prefer to browse for your file, you can click "Original file" in sidebar, and then select "Upload a new version":
Choose the new file from your computer, and Dash will then upload it and replace the existing version. Any logged-in user who has previously downloaded the asset will be notified of the new version available.
⚠️ The uploading via the menu option does not currently work on Safari, due to a known bug with one of the underlying 3rd party codebases used in Dash. In Safari, please use the drag-and-drop method.
Some things to note
We don't re-run auto-tagging on new versions, so if your new version contains different objects that you want tagged, remember to add these in manually after uploading the new version.
Any active embeddable links to the original file will automatically update and reflect the new version. This might take a few minutes.
Only Contributor and Admin users can upload new versions or see the version history
Notifying users of new versions
When you upload a new version of an asset, any user who previously downloaded that asset will be sent an email notifying them that a new version is available, including a link to the asset.
Viewing an asset's version history
You can view the version history by clicking "Original file" in the field side panel, then selecting "View all versions".
From here you can view, download and delete previous versions of assets.
Downloading a previous version of an asset
Once you are viewing an asset's version history, you can click the download button next to any of the versions to download that version.
Deleting a previous version of an asset
You can also delete a previous version of an asset. This is useful if you don't need it anymore, or if you'd like to free up storage space if the asset is really large!
To delete a previous version of an asset, open the previous versions list and click the Delete icon next to the version you would like to delete.